It’s the life in your years

June 14, 2013 — Leave a comment

My birthday was last month. I am a big birthday person. Birthdays are my favorite holidays. Usually my birthday celebrations last a weekend and in the past have included things like trips to Cancun or big parties with all of our friends.

My parties are usually kid-free because I just want to relax, enjoy an adult beverage, and get a timeout from being a mom. I think all moms deserve a moment to just be a grown-up so that’s when I take mine.

This year for my birthday I didn’t want a big party. Don’t get me wrong, I still love a good party but I just wasn’t in the mood for the hoopla that comes with it.

Instead, I wanted something simple: good food and good times with my children, and maybe an adult beverage at night with a few close friends.

My birthday was on a Friday but we allowed the kids to play hookie to celebrate with me.

Well, everyone but Brother who didn’t want to miss a big test. He’s in high school now and I was both very bummed he didn’t want to miss school but also very proud of his maturity. (He made the right choice, obviously.)

So I how did I celebrate? Well, it looked a little something like this…

After all these years I decided I wanted to try Espetus, a Brazilian Churrascaria (or steakhouse).

The waiters come around to your table and serve  different types of meat and seafood and carve it at your table.  You can eat as much as you want and they also have side salads and traditional Brazilian treats, like fried plantains and cheese bread.

It’s a fun dining experience and was so nom nom. (And fairly Paleo-friendly.)

The desserts were so cool we needed to wear sunglasses to eat them!

After that we went to the California Academy of Sciences.

It was rather fortuitous that the free day for our zip code was also my birthday so we got to go in for free (my favorite price!) and saved the $100 it would have costed for the 5 of us to go. Happy birthday to me!

This year I had no cake, no new outfit, no big fuss. Just gorgeous weather, good eats, and good times with beautiful children.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

