{Flashback Friday} Quinceanera Time

July 12, 2013 — Leave a comment

Brother was in a quinceanera last week. (Click the link for the low-down on what a quince is.)

He was so handsome in his tuxedo and looked more like how he’ll look when he’s fully a man and less like the little boy I’ve always known him to be.

It literally brought tears to my eyes; the realization that my baby is no longer a baby.

It seems like only yesterday that I was in a quinceanera just like Brother. I remember the whole thing in detail. I was only thirteen then and it was such a big deal because my high-school aged boyfriend and I had just broken up and he was still the caballero who was going to dance with me.

The typical teenage soap opera.

I remember learning the Waltz and trying on my dress.

Oh, how I loved those gloves!

We rode in a limo, just like Brother did for the quince that he was in. I remember standing out of the sunroof with Liana and yelling at people as the city lights rushed past us.

Man, life was so good.

Life is so good.

It’s funny how in being a parent allows you to have certain experiences again.

If Brother hadn’t been in a quince I’m not sure I would even have thought about it, or remembered that I saved the dress and have it tucked away somewhere. I knew at 13 that I wanted my daughter(s) to have that dress.

Because I felt so beautiful in it and that moment in time was so amazing.

And, life was just so good.

And, man life is just so good.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

