Daring to Dream

September 3, 2013 — 1 Comment

I have BIG plans in the works, folks.

I’ve been hesitant to write or talk about them outside of a select few because, well, I’ve always been one of those people with a million ideas, and a handful of get rich quick schemes.

I always knew I wanted to work for myself because  I knew that my true calling lay elsewhere  — outside of a nine to five doing something that didn’t move me.  (No insult to my current job which I immensely appreciate and am thankful for.)

I knew the things that interested me like clothes or eating wholesome (mostly) organic food, and yoga, and exercise, and make-up, and reading and travel and, my oh my, there are so many fun and interesting things that I enjoy.

Many things that I would enjoy doing and making money from but none of which really moved me or felt like my calling.

For example, I tried being an Independent Stella & Dot Stylist because I love jewelry. But that didn’t become my dream business because it was not my thing.

I only have so many friends and selling in that way just didn’t work for me. It did not feel like my authentic, unique and completely enough self to call friends and acquaintances and bug them to host jewelry parties.

So then I tried becoming an Independent Beachbody Coach because I believed (and still believe) in their workout programs.

I didn’t ever get on a roll with it because although I enjoyed working out and being accountable, it was not my calling. It was a step closer, but it didn’t speak to my soul.

I considered going back to school but didn’t need school debt and for what?

Journalism? Sure, that would be interesting but I don’t want to be a journalist. I imagined it would help me fine tune my writing skills but if I’m not going to be a journalist it seemed like a huge investment with little return.

Writing? Well, sure, but I could also just take classes at community college or online and I already write with some consistency anyway.

Then I considered being a Nutrition Therapy Practitioner because I love health and was so moved by my ability to lead my own child on a path of healing that I thought I should share how nutrition can heal with the world.

But I’m really not that type of healer. While I enjoy nutrition and learning about ways to improve our health through food it didn’t get my spirit to sing. It was more like, “well, maybe I can do this and maybe it will make my life better.”

For me learning about nutrition is more of an interest than an actual calling. And while I still plan on reading all the course materials for the certificate program, it’s for personal enjoyment and knowledge not for any other purpose.

All of us have an ego. We all have a voice in our head that speaks to us.

Sometimes this inner voice is not nice and stunts our growth by making us feel like our biggest and largest dreams are ridiculous.

“Everyone’s already done that,” it might whisper.

Or, “You won’t make any money,” it might snicker.

It may sound like a voice that truly cares saying, “But, really, when are you going to find the time to even get that started?”

It may tell you to get real with yourself and that it’s looking out for your best interest.

That voice, that mean girl who sometimes lives inside our heads, (the voice that is part of who we are) can help us come up with reasons why our dreams are too grandiose, too ridiculous and too far out of reach.

Far too frequently far too many of us believe that voice.

I’m not embarrassed to admit that for far too long I’ve listened to that voice.

A voice that told me that I was not good enough to do this or that because of this or that. That no one would listen to what I have to say because of my background or my history.

“Because who listens to someone who was a young mother anyway?”

That is something she said to me frequently.

Instead of listening to her, that mean girl who sometimes lives inside my head, I’ve opted to dare to dream.

Not only to dare to dream but dare to dream out loud.

Not only to dare to dream out loud, but dare to dream out loud and come up with a goal and a plan for action.

A dream without a goal is just a dream.

A dream with a goal and a plan is a map that leads us in the direction of our destiny and towards our authentic selves. The us who we were created to be.

So, I began to dare to dream quietly and very slowly, cautiously.

And, you know what? I wrote a book.

I said I WROTE A BOOK.

Most people don’t know that. Even many of my friends didn’t believe that I really wrote a book. Maybe sometimes I didn’t believe it myself.

I wrote a book.

But, more than that, I wrote a book that’s actually been picked up by a publisher.

I wrote a book that is being published.

I wrote a book that will be available to the public to buy, to read, and (hopefully!) to love in Spring 2014.

See, one day I told that mean girl in my head to sit down and shut the fuck up.

I told her that I wrote a book and someone somewhere is going to read it and they’re going to love it. Someone who was not my mom or related to me in any way.

I didn’t just tell her that. I meant it.

It’s funny how powerful the mind is. How once we make a decision the waters part and allow us safe passage, showing us that we are on the right path.

Shortly after I made that conscious action — of deciding to make my dreams reality the opportunity appeared. Almost as if the Universe was saying, “I’ve been waiting for you, honey, and your yellow behind is tardy for the party!”

I’m sure as the process continues I’ll post more about my feelings related to it. We’re already discussing cover designs…eek!

Cover designs for a book that I WROTE — let me just take a moment to let that set in! — and so on.

It’s real. It’s actual. It’s something I dreamed and something that I made happen because I decided that I could and I would.

But it doesn’t stop there. This is just the beginning.

I’m dreaming BIG!

What’s your dream? Are you doing anything to make it happen?

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Walking The Walk « Mommy's Fit Life - September 9, 2013

    […] posted recently about the fact that I wrote a book that will be released to the public in Spring of […]

Leave a Reply

