{The Word} Sitting Shiva, A Poem for Grandma Helen

October 7, 2013 — 1 Comment

Rumi said that the wound is the place where the light enters you

And my heart is wounded

Gaping open, raw and tender

I wake up heart broken

Heart cracked into tiny pieces

Wondering if it’s just a dream

Hoping that if I dial your number

You’ll pick up

And mispronounce my name

like you always have

The grief is almost palpable, Grandma

It’s heavy and thick, like a scratchy wool sweater

Because I love you so

The wound is the place where the light enters you

And I know that you are now light

Healed, free

Love, energy

Never gone, only changed

Comme une papillion

You are light

Pure love and light

If the wound is the place where the light enters

Then you are here with me now

Past the pain

Beyond the hurt

To the place where we are all connected as one

Where love is all there is

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. When Shiz Hits the Fan « Mommy's Fit Life - October 30, 2013

    […] far in the span of one month, there was the passing of my grandmother who I adore who is one of my (if not the) closest family member aside from my parents, brother and […]

Leave a Reply

