My Complaining Detox

October 10, 2013 — 1 Comment

click for image source

It’s easy to complain, isn’t it?

How are you can be a loaded question.

It seems like everyday we can find something to complain about and we often do. My Facebook timeline is littered with complaints at times. Talk of “haters” or how much someone’s job/boss/life sucks.

I, myself, am guilty of riding the train to Complaintville on a regular basis. I complain about being tired a lot due to having a toddler that doesn’t sleep through the night.

I complain about all the stuff I have to do.

click image for source

I complain about the traffic, poor customer service, rude people on the street, my job. Not all the time and not all day everyday but I’m sure I complain about something at least once a day if not more.

I’m sure you do too. Without even realizing it.

It’s easy to complain. It’s almost second nature. You think you’re a totally positive person and still complain a lot.

Now, to be fair, sometimes complaining is important. Complaining about poor treatment in a business can help ensure that in the future you or other customers are treated differently. Complaining about unfair laws, budget cuts, etc. is important.

But I’m not talking about those complaints. I’m talking about complaining that you feel fat because you ate too much cake the night before. The complaints that life isn’t fair because you don’t have a new car. First world complaints.

Like I said, I’m guilty of this myself so I’m going on a complaining detox. That’s right, I’m going to go a week without complaining about anything. Instead of complaining about the crappy driver in front of me, I’m going to take a deep breath and send them love.

When I feel myself on the verge of a complaint, I’m going to consciously shift my thoughts to something positive and focus on all the good instead of the annoying stuff. Rather than complaining about the laundry that somehow seems to reproduce at night while we’re all asleep I’m going to express gratitude for having clothes, for having a washing machine.

There’s no real reason for this detox of sorts other than I think it’s important to take inventory of our thoughts and notice how our thoughts shape our daily lives and our experiences. I think that it’s important to be reminded that we have the power to control so much.

Also, when we’re sending out love and good vibes into the world we get that back. When we send out complaints and bad juju we’re also getting that back.

click image for source

I dare you to go one day without complaining. It’s harder than you think because complaining is somewhat ingrained in our psyches. Don’t think so, try to go a day without complaining!

If you go a day without complaining, I bet you’ll notice how great your life is and how good you feel.

If you want to join me for a week long complain detox let us know in the comments sections and maybe tell us why you’re going complaint-free.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Three Signs You Get Off On Drama & How To Go On A Drama Diet « Mommy's Fit Life - January 8, 2014

    […] Start with one day a make a conscious effort not to complain out loud to family or friends all day. Instead, speak only of the good things that have happened in your day. Even if it was a shitty day (and, yes, we all have them), focus on whatever good there was be that finding the perfect parking space, or eating a great meal. And if you can’t find something nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Once you’ve done one day, try two days of no complaining and then a whole week. The more you go without complaining the better you’ll feel. I’ve tried this and it works. […]

Leave a Reply

