Make You Feel Some Type of Way – Rich Homie Quan

November 8, 2013 — Leave a comment

[WARNING…. this post includes a video with profanity and content that some may find offensive. Proceed at your own risk. I’ve gone back and forth about whether to publish this post and decided that I would because this is me and sometimes I listen to music that some may find offensive. At one point people found rock-n-roll offensive so you can’t please everyone.]

As I was driving the other day the song “Type of Way” by Rich Homie Quan came on the radio. I had heard this song before because Brother is often singing the lyrics and I’ve heard it coming through the walls of his room, in addition to the occasional spins on the radio.

My ****** been hustlin’ trying to make him something
Ain’t no telling what he’ll do for the paper
Soufflé, I’m straight, I scrape my plate,
Sade, I’m a smooth operator.

(I Drop The Top Of My Whip Baby!)
That car I’m driving make you feel some type of way
That Custom Breitling make you feel some type of way
This ***** I’m with got me feeln’ some type a way
Is it because my homies rich you feel some type of way?
Some type of way, make you feel some type of way

While the lyrics on their face may be simplistic, braggy or even slightly misogynistic they talk about something that most of us will struggle with at some point – feeling “some type of way” because of something someone else does or because of what they have, or appear to have.

I will be the first to say that I have felt “some type of way” because of something someone has or is doing. That’s not to say that I often or even always feel envy but there have been times when I’ve looked at someone else’s life and felt inferior, sad or lacking.

Yes, sometimes I’ve felt a tinge of jealousy.

I’ve also looked at someone else’s life, job or material things and felt inspired, encouraged, reassured, and validated. I have been made to feel like I can do whatever he/she is doing. I have read someone else’s words and they have inspired me to write, to buy a book, or to make a change in my life for the better.

It’s kind of amazing that another person has the power to cause us to feel “some type of way” (as we also do to others without even realizing it). They don’t have this power because they’re some mystical creature or somehow better or different than we are. They have the power to make us feel things because we give it to them.

In some cases, this is a very good thing and sometimes it’s a recipe for disaster.

Feeling “some type of way” because of someone else does not have to be a bad feeling. The way we feel is something that is in our control once we become aware of our thoughts. Not only is it in our control but it can give us clues about how we feel about ourselves and how we can grow and develop as spiritual beings having this human experience.

For example, when I see the mom who is put together everyday dressed from head to toe like a Kardashian with a personal stylist, I can choose to let it make me feel bad. I can choose to compare my ballet flats to her stilettos. I can choose to feel less than because maybe I just threw something on and it doesn’t make me feel like a sexy beast. I can choose to feed into my insecurities that I am somehow not enough.

I can choose to steal my own joy by comparing myself to her.

I can also choose to feel inspired. I can allow myself to be reminded that we both have the same 24 hours a day and if I want to look like a Kardashian everyday I can too; I just have to make the effort to do that like she does.

I can choose to see her as a sister and to admire and compliment her so that the next morning when I’m putting on my outfit for the day I take an extra five minutes to make sure my outfit makes me feel good.

It seems silly in a way but everyone allows themselves to feel a type of way because of other people at times. If no one did there wouldn’t be sayings like “haters gonna hate” or “likers gonna like.”

At the root, the way we feel has nothing to do with what someone has/is doing but is really a reflection of how we feel on the inside. When we’re conscious of this, we can choose to feel good and inspired by others rather than like we’re lacking.

Has someone made you feel “some type of way” recently?

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

